Introversion and the Writer

For as long as I can remember, my mother has always commented on how quiet I was at home, when in the social circle I can be very involve. It is as if, I turn off the moment I reach home.

In fact, I really do turn off once I settle into my security bubble.

For many years, I’ve had this thought that something was wrong with me. That I was living life in hypocrisy. Socially engaging but private in nature. And this conflict within my personality has been a point of stress for me.

This was the case until I discovered and accepted the fact that I am an Introvert and an extreme one at that.

I’m an Introvert, who is expected to be an Extravert in an Extraverted world.

But of late, I have learnt to accept myself for who I am. This is just the way my brain is hardwired to handle the world. And I am not ashamed neither afraid to tell people that I am an Introvert. That my silence at meetings and seemingly aloof nature is expected. It is my natural response to the world.

And my Introversion is what makes me the writer that I am. It is in fact, the strength behind my writing.

A key trait for an Introvert is the ability to “think before we speak” and we do this naturally. And I have this trait in spades. The ability to reflect and ponder and think things true is something an Introvert is born with. It is instinctive for any Introvert to draw back into their own mind when confronted with decisions, arguments and issues. And Introverts think with their fingers. They write their thoughts out, work well with diagrams, charts and images that reflect the ideas they have within their heads.

Doesn’t the above reflect the traits needed to be a Writer?

So if you feel that you are an Introvert, consider trying out writing as a means for you to communicate with the world.

2 Responses to Introversion and the Writer

  1. analyfe says:

    I also consider myself an introvert and I feel far more comfortable communicating through writing than speaking, I agree that introverted people would make good writers.

    I wrote an article on introversion a few days ago if you’d like ro check it out: http://analyfe.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/introversion-in-an-extroverts-world/

  2. Kopi Soh says:

    Your articles ring so true for me, I have always thought I was the only one who felt this way, sometimes I feel like a fraud, being an introvert pretending to be an extrovert. This is the first time I am here, am really enjoying your post and will definitely check out your books 😀

Leave a Reply

