About Life and Death

I’ve been away since Saturday to attend to a family funeral.

It has given me a chance to reflect on the frailty of life and the eminence of death. How death is a constant reminder to us, that life is for the living and life should be lived to the fullest.

At the same time as I was thinking through these themes, I was also “advised” by a group of people over some matters I am trying to put behind me. I could have easily chosen to react in anger and bitterness and hatred but I’ve come to accept the fact – some people will never see things the way you do. And when all the dust has settled, the most important opinion is the one you hold within you. The opinion you subscribe to.

Life is too short to entertain matters that hold you back from living life as it is. Must I apologize for having to live my life the way it is now? When all accounts, I have in the past and future, will be made to my Creator?

I stood among tombstones on Monday, and took in the silence, the tranquility of life at its end and it appealed to me. The thought that life’s end is nothing to fear but to accept was strangely inviting. And it dawned on me, that it is not death we must fear; it is living. The fear of NOT living. It is a state, worse then death. It is a fear, perpetuated by external views, religious fervor,  social norms, racial divides, hurts, bitterness, lies, promises, vows…it is a fear of where one stops living and starts dying prematurely.

I end with the words from Rumi :

A stone I died and rose again a plant;
A plant I died and rose an animal;
I died an animal and was born a man.
Why should I fear? What have I lost by death?

Leave a Reply

