The Source of Creativity in Writers

I am a mix of things. A jumbled mess of emotions, oxy-moronic quirks and mismatched manners. People do not understand me and, most times, I don’t understand myself too. It’s a constant wonderment of “What do you want?” and in most cases, the person in front of me do not know what they want out of me.

The label “Insane Writer” seems to fit me well. In fact, there are those out there that think of me in exact terms.

“Oh, there goes that insane guy, who writes. He’s full of weird ideas. Dangerous ideas and always moody. Never listen to people’s advice or opinions and makes stupid decisions and all. He’s not only insane, he’s stupid,” the nay-sayers say.

What humans fail to explain and rationalize is always filed under “Something Crazy”, leaving it as something not worth their time to understand.

Isanity has always plague the writer. Suicide and depression are the writers cloak. Yet, what most people fear is exactly the source of a writers creativity.

It is not surprising that these mood disorders seem most at home in the artistic mind. “The cognitive style of manic-depression overlaps with the creative temperament,” Ms. Jamison said. Researchers have found that in a mildly manic state, subjects think more quickly, fluidly and originally. In a depressed state, subjects are self-critical and obsessive, an ideal frame of mind for revision and editing. “When we think of creative writers,” Ms. Jamison said, “we think of boldness, sensitivity, restlessness, discontent; this is the manic-depressive temperament.”

Full Article: Exploring The Links Between Depression, Writers and Suicide

Writers and artist seem to gravitate towards the insane and quirky side of life. They explore areas which no other human would go, then they report their findings. Most time, they fall prey to their own research.

Have I ever thought of suicide? Yes.

Have I ever thought of death? Yes.

Do I play the scenes of death and suicide and hopelessness in my mind? Yes.

From the above article, I learnt;

Kay Jamison, a professor of psychiatry at Johns Hopkins University and the author of “Touched With Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament,” said writers were 10 to 20 times as likely as other people to suffer manic-depressive or depressive illnesses, which lead to suicide more often than any other mental disorders do.

It is ironic, that the most beautiful of human expressions (art,writing,poetry,etc) can find its roots in the most darkest of the human psyche – depression.

Writers and artist are gifts from the Creator, to color a world with the arts and music and literature. And in most cases, the gift is temporal; for we only appreciate the things we have lost.

For writers (and artists); our greatest strength – the ability to fanthom the depths of human emotions is also our greatest weakness – our own frail emotional state.

Dont’ give up.

Technorati : , , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , , ,
Zooomr : , , , ,
Flickr : , , , ,

3 Responses to The Source of Creativity in Writers

  1. Presents says:

    Writers and editors must demonstrate good judgment and a strong sense of ethics in deciding what material to publish. Presents

  2. Heard about this site from my friend. He pointed me here and told me I’d find what I need. He was right! I got all the questions I had, answered. Didn’t even take long to find it. Love the fact that you made it so easy for people like me. More power

  3. Kelsi Ceaser says:

    Although I would’ve preferred if you went into a little bit more detail, I still got the gist of what you meant. I agree with it. It might not be a popular idea, but it makes sense. Will definitely come back for more of this. Great work

Leave a Reply

