Emo-centric writer at heart.

My friends laugh cause I take up my day, listening to “emo-songs” and posting my findings on FaceBook. It helps my writing. Stephen King listens to heavy metal when he writes and Mitch Albom plays in a band. Writers express themselves through their writings but draw strength and inspiration from the things they love. For me, it’s emotional Indonesian or Korean love songs. I love the music videos that accompany these songs cause it tells the story and they are great sources for stories.

What these songs do is generate the “What if?” questions and these questions spark the quest for an answer and the telling of a story. Stories and plots can be driven by the quest for an answer and I see this pattern in Paulo Coelho’s books.

So it could be horror movies, baking cakes, eating burgers by the roadside or just listening to big-band music. If it’s inspires you to write the stories you enjoy writing, so be it. Whatever that inspires you to write use it to your advantage and make it your strength.

Happy writing!

2 Responses to Emo-centric writer at heart.

  1. eberez says:

    and why wouldn’t you follow in the steps of King and Albom….

    check me out: http://orangepacific.wordpress.com/

    • Maclean Patrick says:

      I never said I wouldn’t follow in their steps. Only I like listening to songs, but like Albom; I sing and play the guitar. Anything, to inspire me.

Leave a Reply

