In order to write, start writing.

A dear friend called me up and told me, she couldn’t seem to get into the “groove” for writing. There always seems to be a distraction that throws her off writing. I sympathize with her because she has come across something writers all over face.

The dreaded, “How to start writing?” or “I need the feel of writing” condition.

It’s not writer’s block, because you do have an idea of what you want to write and accomplish. Yet, how do you get into the “groove” or “feel” of writing.

Just start writing. Write. Anything. Just write anything that comes to mind. Pick up a piece of paper and write. Even if it’s a shopping list. Just write. Doodle if you need to but you need to jump-start the coordination between thought-fingers-words. You need to form that connection again.

This is why, in the lull between writing my books, I post blog entries (twice a day – when possible) or contribute articles to a news portal. The whole idea is to keep on writing something, even if it’s a short piece. I want to keep the connection between my mind-fingers-words constantly open and ever ready to produce sentences.

Of course you have to couple this with reading. Read as much as you can and then write and keep on writing on a regular basis.

This is the only way I can think off to jump back into the groove. The longer you have been out of the groove, the harder it seems. But the moment you are in the groove, you tend to stay there until you decide to slack and jump out of it.

So start writing my friend.

3 Responses to In order to write, start writing.

  1. Laurie says:

    I agree with this, so much. Writing is something to aspire to on so many levels, but I think we complicate it more than we need to, looking for that sophistication that will set us apart when simple realism or detail will do.
    Thanks for a great point!

  2. Pingback: Link wave 2: writing inspirations–we have what you need! « Jade's Journal

  3. I write a poetry blog and I have hit a block as some would say but today I am going to write like you said because I have a passion to, thank you for the inspiration sir.

    I aspire to get a book published myself but it’s unfinished hopefully it won’t be long. :)

    LeahMichaels

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

